Nevada Traffic School Center

Nevada DMV Point Reduction

You will receive a mailed notification from the DMV's Driver License Review Section when you reach 3 or more points. If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you may have 3 points removed by completing this Nevada DMV-approved traffic safety course only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law.

When you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your driver license is automatically suspended for 6 months. You will be mailed a certified letter before your license is suspended and have the right to a hearing.

Nevada Traffic Point Schedule-

The following is a partial list of traffic violations, showing the demerit points that are assigned to your driving record. If you have a Commercial Driver License, there are additional penalties for some violations and additional demerit points may be assigned.

Reckless Driving 8 Speeding  
Careless Driving 6 1 - 10 mph over posted limit 1
Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident 6 11 - 20 mph over posted limit 2
Following too closely 4 21 - 30 mph over posted limit 3
Failure to yield right-of-way 4 31 - 40 mph over posted limit 4
Passing a school bus when signals are flashing 4 41 mph or more over posted limit 5
Failure to yield to a pedestrian 4 Prima Facie speed violation or driving too fast for the conditions 2
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign 4 See Violation Codes for a complete list of offenses and points.
Impeding traffic, driving too slowly 2
Failure to dim headlights 2

Court Ordered Nevada Traffic School

If you were ordered by a Nevada Court to complete a 5 hour Nevada Traffic school, complete this traffic school and show the certificate to the court to meet the court requirements. Completion will prevent the points from reaching your DMV driving record.

You must request traffic safety school and enter your plea of Guilty or No Contest on or before the court date listed on your citation and BEFORE you attend the class.  Traffic safety school does not reduce the fine amount but paying the fine and completing traffic safety school by the completion due date will amend the violation to a parking violation (no points are reported to DMV on parking violations).

You may request traffic safety school only once a year and there is a traffic safety school fee, which is in addition to your citation fine amount.  You will be given a completion due date and a Traffic Safety School information sheet when you enter a plea.  Failure to complete traffic safety school by the completion due date will result in the original violation conviction being reported to DMV. You may not request Traffic School if your driver’s license is a Commercial Driver’s License. The practice of reducing charges, altering speeds, or allowing CDL drivers to attend traffic safety school is specifically prohibited in 49 CFR Part 384.226.

sign up for Nevada Traffic School
NV traffic safety school login

Nevada Traffic School checklist

Why take a Nevada Traffic School?

Nevada DMV Point Removal

If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points on your Nevada DMV driving record, you may have 3 points removed by completing a Nevada traffic safety course.

Nevada Ticket Dismissal (Court Plea)

Most Nevada courts offer a dismissal of the citation if the defendant successfully completes a Nevada Traffic School.

Traffic School Course Details:

Our Nevada Traffic School is very simple to use and complete. Simply complete the registration, finish the chapters and you're done! We can send your certificate via email or drop it in the mail for you. All course participation is online, and you can log on and off the program at anytime!

Click HERE to register